About Tromsø Geophysical Observatory

The Auroral Observatory orginally was a section of the Norwegian Institute of Cosmical Physics (NIKF) established in 1928.
NIKF was merged with the University of Tromsø in 1972 and form the basis for the present Department of Physics and Technology at the University.

However, the designation 'Auroral Observatory' was kept for a small special group within the Department of Physics. This group was to continue the longterm geophysical observations of aurorae, magnetic field, and ionosphere inherited from NIKF. 

Effective 1. January 2000 this group was separated from the Department of Physics and established as a unit directly under the Faculty of Science and Mathematics given the name 'Tromsø Geophysical Observatory' (TGO)

The primary activities of TGO are geomagnetic and ionospheric observations, the former using a network of established magnetometers and the latter using an ionosonde near Tromsø. Secondary activities include hosting a number of own, shared and guest instruments and operating field stations on mainland Norway and on Svalbard.

The Norwegian Center for Space Weather (NOSWE) is a unit under Tromsø Geophysical Observatory (TGO) at UiT – the Arctic University of Norway.

The staff as of August 2015 is:

Chris Hall Chris Hall
Scientist and head of the group.

Telephone: +47 776 20884
E-mail: chris.hall@uit.no

Magnar Gullikstad Johnsen
Scientist

Telephone: +47 776 46956 
E-mail: magnar.g.johnsen@uit.no

Daniel Martini,
Scientist, NOSWE


Telephone: +47 776 46383
E-mail: daniel.martini@uit.no

Børre Heitmann Holmeslet,
Senior engineer 

Programming, dataprocessing and data distribution. 
Telephone: +47 776 45148 
E-mail: borre.holmeslet@uit.no
private page

Bjørn Ove Husøy,
Senior engineer

Construction of instruments, maintenance. 
Telephone: +47 776 45160 
E-mail: bjorn-ove.husoy@uit.no

Bjørnar Hansen,
Engineer 

Data processing, operation of guest instruments, maintenance 
Telephone: +47 776 45138 
E-mail: bjornar.hansen@uit.no

Chiara Argese,
Technician, NOSWE


Telephone: +47 776 45092
E-mail: chiara.argese@uit.no

Massimo di Loreto,
Technician, NOSWE


Telephone: +47 776 45096
E-mail: massimo.d.loreto@uit.no

Inge Edvardsen
Ph.D.-student.
Employed by Baker Hughes Norge AS.

Telephone: +47 776 45665
E-mail: inge.edvardsen@bakerhughes.com

Silje Eriksen Holmen
Ph.D.-student.

Telephone: +47 79 02 33 88
E-mail: silje.eriksen.holmen@unis.no



Telephone: +47 776 44000
Telefax :  +47 776 45580
Address: Tromsø Geophysical Observatory
Faculty of Science and Technology
University of Tromsø
N-9037 Tromsø
NORWAY

Responsible Editor: Chris Hall
Web & Programming: Børre Heitmann Holmeslet
Last page update 31.Aug.2015